Amp and Pedal Talk/Advise

Discussion in 'Tone Zone' started by Brian16sg, Jan 13, 2019.

1. Brian16sg

Brian16sg Active Member

Hi i started playing guitar in March and have been practicing about 90% unplugged . So far from learning cords to songs thanks to U-Tube (mainly Marty Shwartz ) . Im getting to the point were im playing through the amp and learning about Amps amps and pedals . So right now i have a hand me down Crate G-60 and Black Star Fly mini amp. The Crate amp sounds pretty good and loud right now but eventually i will upgrade . On that note Pedals from what i have seen $100.00 plus a piece. So if you buy say 3 pedals you are in new amp money territory all ready . So what are your thoughts on plain amps with pedals vs Modeling amps with built in pedals. Im thinking of getting some kind of looper pedal and then upgrading to something like the Boss Katana and one i was checking out yesterday the Vox VT40X .

Stuart likes this.
  2. Davis Sharp

Davis Sharp Well-Known Member

How much do you plan to spend? Doe you want to annoy just your next door neighbors or the ones down the street?:)

Boss and Vox have excellent reputations. The 40W Fender Champion is also a good deal.. I have the 20W version, but the larger speaker in the 40W makes a big difference.

You can get some nice pedals from Donner or Mooer, which won't break the bank.

3. BGood

BGood Well-Known Member

I say get a modeler to start with (you might just stay with it for a long time). Because you can go soooo many different ways on a one trick pony amp and a plethora of pedals, you end up getting lost, spending tons of cash and going nowhere.

If the price is right on that VT40X, it's a good one to get you where you want to go. But if I were you, I'd get an used VT40+ for half the price if not less. You'll have money left for a looper. The Katana is a good option.

DaveInSoCal and wildeman like this.
  4. Brian16sg

Brian16sg Active Member