Epi Junior build in the works,....

Discussion in 'Epiphone Guitars' started by Mike Petras, Jun 2, 2019.

1. Mike Petras

Mike Petras Member

One of the perks of doing what I do for a living is that I sometimes come across intresting stuff to trade for as payment for under-the-table work. Yesterday I picked up a plain black Junior, serial# SI9806XXXX as partial payment with cash. It's a little abused and has some wierd S*** going on: like the no-name HB hiding under the P90 cover, the tone control is MIA, and the wiring was a mess of electricians tape and slightly different gauges. On the other hand the body hasn't been moded(like taking a router to the pup cavity), only one small knick in the upper edge of the body, and the neck is much better than I would have expected for a plywood body Junior. So I took it as it looks like a good project for hot rodding.
    As far as electronics is concerned I have a box full of nos Alpha full sized pots, Sprague caps, cloth covered and shielded wiring, etc, so there's no issue for me to rebuild the wiring harness `50s style. On the other hand I'll need a P90 to fill the now empty cavity, nut(the current one is some kind of plastic, I thought that I might as well spring for a Tusq as I've always had good luck with them in the past), and maybe no-name tuners as the current ones have spots where they are hard to turn when you rotate them. I thought about shielding as well,...
    Sooo, if anyone has any ideas for the parts that I mentioned above, I'm ALL ears!
    And Thanks in advance!

IGRocker likes this.
  2. Brian16sg

Brian16sg Active Member

You got any pictures? We like those . It sounds like you have built a few guitars . On the pickups there are so many choices and on a single pickup Guitar .I see some are for neck some are for bridge it’s got to be a balance of both I guess.

Mike Petras likes this.
  3. Davis Sharp

Davis Sharp Well-Known Member

Mike Petras likes this.
  4. Mike Petras

Mike Petras Member