Epiphone Pro models

Discussion in 'Epiphone Guitars' started by Brian16sg, May 26, 2018.

1. Brian16sg

Brian16sg New Member

Hi I just joined today new . Just picked up a used 2016 SG Pro last week . I'm a beginner learning all the ins and outs of guitars and gear. Wile researching it got me wondering. On the Pro models say less Paul, ES 339,ES 355 ext . Do they all share the same guts as in pick ups, pots and wiring ? I wondering if there's a big difference in the sound of each one to another.

2. Shadow Explorer

Shadow Explorer Well-Known Member

The guitar bodyshape (les paul, sg, v, explorer etc) and construction (solid,hollow,semihollow) plays a big part on how the guitar will sound, in my books, that as as Important as scale length.
    Then it comes down to the wood and finally pups.

Generally they can produce the same "type" of sound, but each will give it, it's own twist.
    Les Pauls have thick poweful sound. (think of them as bodybuilders)
    SG, Explorer and V, have a thinner (more fluid) sound (think of them as sprinters)

More or less yes all those guitar have the same, or similar hardware.
    From wires to bridges to pots, etc.
    Pups are different per model or year,you can look it up at the epiphone website.

Last edited: May 26, 2018
  3. vomer

vomer Well-Known Member

Welcome Brian, can't really add anything to what Shadow Explorer said.

Shadow Explorer, Stuart and Paruwi like this.
  4. elephantrider

elephantrider Well-Known Member

the pro designates that it has the push pull pots, i believe.
    somebody slap meh if i'm outta line on that.

5. BGood

BGood Well-Known Member

My LP 60's Tribute Plus has p/p pots.
    Slap yourself, I'm too far.

6. sliberty

sliberty Active Member