Kemper Profiler and Fractal AxeFx3

Discussion in 'Tone Zone' started by ChainsawCharlie, Mar 10, 2020.

Tags:
  1. ChainsawCharlie

ChainsawCharlie Member

Hi
    I have Boss Katana Amp 100w and on the whole I like its features but really struggle with the right tone always seems very Bass almost muddy, in spite of trying with different guitars/pickups, I am never fully satisfied with the tone.

Been hearing alot about Kemper and AxeFx
    I am only a bedroom guitarist and have no intention of performing, so figured Studio monitors would stop me from neighbourhood problems (loud)

What I think I may like is the ability to load very good presets, which will give me the tone I need for the type of music I list below.

Anyone have any experience of either of these 2 models, and possible pro's and cons of each unit?

I understand you basically have any amp at your disposal, and am I right in thinking nearly all pedal effects built in too, such as delay, reverb, compressor. I guess distortion pedal not really needed if you use the right amp profile and settings.

Music I'm into playing through the amp: Dire straights Sultans of Swing etc.. using my Fender Strat
    All Guns n Roses & AC/DC using Epi Les Paul ( of course)
    U2 using Fender Strat. And Blues.

I realise the whole investment maybe around £2000-£3000 let's call this my preparing for retirement spend :-)

Am I being fooled by the Sales Hype or would either of these 2 units help me to fulfill my goals here.
    As always any advice from you knowledgeable guys will be priceless to me and very much appreciated.

Thanks
    CSC:cheers:

2. wildeman

wildeman Well-Known Member

That's a big step! Naturally, do it if you want but I'd try a different modeler first. I never had a big Katana but I've had Fender Mustangs and they sounded damn good and never muddy, and were not very expensive. Also had a Peavey Viper that was really nice sounding.

ChainsawCharlie likes this.
  3. BGood

BGood Well-Known Member