Epiphone Dot MIK. Let's see it.

Discussion in 'Epiphone Guitars' started by Epic, Sep 7, 2020.

1. Epic

Epic New Member

Hi Epiphone lovers,

I'm new to this forum and I'm happy that I have found it. I would have never known I would love an Epiphone guitar until a week ago. I have been playing guitar for a few years now, I'm by no means an expert, but playing guitar is like escape and a form of expression which I like. Currently, I've been trying to find something new and I stumbled upon a used Epiphone Dot year 2001 for sale, made in Korea, "I" for Saein. Reviews have praised this guitar a lot, so I decided to buy it from the previous owner. What a wonderful guitar! Well crafted, has presence, the tone is warm which is perfect for that jazz sound. Add a bit of an overdrive and it speaks the Blues! I owned a Gibson LP and an American Fender Strat as well, and I haven't touched those two guitars for a week now! I'm happy I bought this Dot. The only thing that I didn't like at the beginning was the neck that felt a bit sticky due to its "glossy" finish, but after playing for a few hours, I got used to it. I know nowadays Dots are MIC, I haven't tried an MIC so I cannot speak to it. So I guess my question is, if you own an Epiphone DOT MIK, what has been your experience with it? Would you also know what kind of wood, materials they used to make those guitars back then? Let's see it! Mine is attached.
    :dude:

Attached Files:

2. Supersonic

Supersonic Well-Known Member

A Scotch-Brite pad will fix that for you in a matter of seconds.

3. wildeman

wildeman Well-Known Member

No dot but i have a Sheraton from that year and it is exceptional. Those are maple bodies with mahogany necks iirc, probably alnico '57 pickups, same as mine.

4. Epic

Epic New Member

That is really nice. Please post a photo ;)

5. Epic

Epic New Member

That is interesting, so you recommend to just brush off the glossy coating?

6. Supersonic

Supersonic Well-Known Member