Epiphone Joe Pass Emperor-II Pro is calling my name...

Discussion in 'Epiphone Guitars' started by Jam Handy, Nov 18, 2020.

1. Jam Handy

Jam Handy Member

https://www.samash.com/epiphone-joe...chtop-hollow-body-electric-guitar-etepxxxxx-p

I got a lot to say about this, so here goes...

I have played jazz since the very beginning of my guitar journey. I got my first guitar Christmas 1975 and the next year I was playing with the high school jazz band. I played with that group through all 4 years of high school. In 1984-86 I studied privately with Robert Conti (https://www.robertconti.com/) who now has a huge selection of DVDs on the market. I moved to L.A. mid- '86 and through a friend at G.I.T. I got to meet and study with Phil Upchurch (one of his claims to fame was being arranger and rhythm guitar for George Benson through several gold records). After that between 1987-1989 through my same contact at G.I.T. (Guitar Institute of Technology in Hollywood) I was able to meet and study with Ted Greene at his apartment in Encino, CA. In those days I called myself a "jazz purist" in that the only music I would listen to was a specific type of swing/straight ahead playing of jazz standards. Joe Pass was and forever will be my favorite guitarist of any genre for all time.

For all these years and all this time I have never owned a real "traditional" jazz guitar. My axe of choice was a 1980 Les Paul Artisan (which I still have) tuned donw D to D or C to C and strung up with a set of Dean Markley jazz .012's... When I played it on the bride pickup with those strings it gave me all the thick and rich tone I needed.