Replacing stock tuners on Epiphone SG Special

Discussion in 'Epiphone Guitars' started by nel, Oct 9, 2017.

1. nel

nel New Member

Good day dudes! I'm new here in this forum.
    I just want to ask if it's ok to upgrade my SG's stock tuners to budget tuners that has no brand or an OEM as they call it. It costs 10 dollars. I want to replace it because whenever I'm bending a string it gets out of tune easily especially the 3 higher strings.
    [​IMG]
    and one more thing, did anyone here used this kind of tuner? or did anyone here tried one of these? I just want to make sure I can get the best budget tuner for my SG Special. Be kind dudes I'm a newbie in upgrading parts! Peace out! Thanks in advance for your kind answers.

PS: I'm not that good in speaking/writing in english so if I have a grammatical error pls pardon me. :)

Last edited: Oct 9, 2017
    Paruwi likes this.
  2. Raiyn

Raiyn Well-Known Member

It's perfectly fine to want to upgrade your tuners, however a no-name $10 set of tuners might not provide much of an upgrade.

Epiphone owners tend not to worry about "originality" as much as Gibson loyalists. We love changing parts and making our guitars better.

nel likes this.
  3. Cam.man67

Cam.man67 Well-Known Member

Just FYI, if bending is causing tuning issues, you may want to investigate the nut instead of tuners.

That said, the style tuner you have pictured is an OEM style for a lot of brands of guitars. They're not terrible tuners to be sure, though I'd be tempted to shop around on eBay for a set of Grovers. I got a brand new set for $20, and they are truly a quality tuner.

nel and Raiyn like this.
  4. Davis Sharp

Davis Sharp Well-Known Member

Welcome to Epiphone-Talk. It's your guitar, so making changes is fine. Just make sure that the seller's website states that the tuners are compatible with your SG. You would not want to get the tuners and then realize that you have to drill holes for the mounting screws to make them fit.